Who has the Senate in 2008?

2008 United States Senate elections

Leader Harry Reid Mitch McConnell
Party Democratic Republican
Leader’s seat Nevada Kentucky
Seats before 49 49
Seats after 57 41

Who did Virginia Vote 2008?

Virginia was won by Democratic nominee Barack Obama by a 6.3% margin of victory.

Who are Virginia’s senators?

Mark Warner (Democratic Party)
Tim Kaine (Democratic Party)

Who controlled the Senate in 2007?

110th United States Congress
Senate Majority Democratic
Senate President Dick Cheney (R)
House Majority Democratic
House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D)

Who has the House in 2008?

2008 United States House of Representatives elections

Leader Nancy Pelosi John Boehner
Party Democratic Republican
Leader since January 3, 2003 January 3, 2007
Leader’s seat California 8th Ohio 8th
Last election 233 seats, 52.3% 202 seats, 44.3%

Who controlled the US Senate in 2005?

109th United States Congress
Senate Majority Republican
Senate President Dick Cheney (R)
House Majority Republican
House Speaker Dennis Hastert (R)

Who was the Governor of Virginia in 2008?

During the same election, former Democratic Governor Mark Warner solidly defeated former Governor (and his predecessor) Republican Jim Gilmore by a two-to-one margin for the open U.S. Senate seat vacated by incumbent Republican John Warner (no relation to Mark Warner). Warner received 65.03% of the vote while Gilmore took in 33.73%.

When did the Senate seat in Virginia become vacant?

Its Senate seats were declared vacant in March 1861, due to its secession from the Union, but Senators representing its western counties continued to sit until March 1863. Virginia’s Senate seats were again filled from January 1870.

Who is the longest serving senator from Virginia?

Harry F. Byrd was Virginia’s longest-serving senator (1933–1965). Class 1 U.S. senators belong to the electoral cycle that has recently been contested in 2000, 2006, 2012, and 2018.

Who was the Governor of Virginia in 1804?

On August 11, 1804, the Governor of Virginia appointed William Giles to the Class 1 vacancy and Andrew Moore to the Class 2 vacancy. “Virginia 1809 U.S. Senate”. James M. Mason and Robert M. T. Hunter “withdrew” from the Senate on March 28, 1861, with other senators sympathetic to the Confederacy.