When was the IMPAC Dublin Literary Award created?

The award was established in 1994 as the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, a joint initiative of Dublin City Council and the American productivity company IMPAC, which had its European headquarters in Dublin. James Irwin, president of IMPAC, established the prize money at €100,000.

Who was the founder of the Dublin Literary Award?

James Irwin, president of IMPAC, established the prize money at €100,000. A trust fund was established to pay for the award and its maintenance. The award has been administered by Dublin City Public Libraries since its inception. IMPAC went defunct in the late-2000s when its founder and president James Irwin died in 2009.

How much does the International Dublin Literary Award pay?

At € 100,000, the award is one of the richest literary prizes in the world. If the winning book is a translation (as it has been nine times), the prize is divided between the writer and the translator, with the writer receiving €75,000 and the translator €25,000.

When does the Dublin City Library longlist come out?

Dublin City Public Libraries seek nominations from 400 public libraries from major cities across the world. Libraries can apply to be considered for inclusion in the nomination process. The longlist is announced in October or November of each year, and the shortlist (up to 10 titles) is announced in March or April of the following year.

Can a public library nominate a book for the IMPAC?

Public libraries around the world nominate titles for the Impac, which typically results in an eclectic shortlist of prizewinners and less well-known titles – and this year is no exception.

Who are the authors on the Dublin Book Prize shortlist?

Diverse 10-book shortlist for €100,000 prize pitches Man Booker winner Marlon James and Pulitzer prize winner Marilynne Robinson against debuts from Rwandan and Irish novelists Scholastique Mukasonga … shortlisted for her debut novel, Our Lady of the Nile, which explores racial tensions in Rwanda before the genocide in 1994.