What things count for UCAS points?

How many UCAS points do I need?

  • Post-16 Qualifications – A-levels, AS-levels, Advanced Highers, Certificates, Diplomas and Awards are all converted into UCAS points.
  • Pre-16 Qualifications – Most courses also require that you have certain pre-16 qualifications, including GCSE Maths and English.

What is D * equivalent to?

D* – 56 Ucas points (equivalent to A* at A-level) D – 48 Ucas points (equivalent to A at A-level) M – 32 Ucas points (equivalent to C at A-level) P – 16 Ucas points (equivalent to E at A-level)

How does the tariff work for the UCAS?

The UCAS Tariff is a way of allocating points to qualifications. Not all qualifications attract UCAS Tariff points for various reasons. The university or college you’re interested in may accept your qualifications as an appropriate entry route, even if they don’t attract UCAS Tariff points. For more information, check out our Tariff page.

How are UCAS points calculated in the UK?

UCAS points (also known as the UCAS Tariff) are a way of measuring the relative value of all post-16 qualifications in the UK. The UCAS Tariff assigns a numerical score to the possible grades that can be achieved in each type of qualification. The higher the grade you achieve, the higher the number of points.

How old do you have to be to get UCAS points?

UCAS Tariff points are allocated to qualifications generally studied between the ages of 16 to 18. The main purpose of the UCAS Tariff is for universities to report data to government bodies. However, some universities and colleges use UCAS points in their entry requirements, so you may need to know how many points your qualifications are worth.

Do you need UCAS Tariff points for Royal Holloway?

No, each university and course have different entry requirements. For example, an English Language degree or an English Literature degree at the University of Oxford may require more UCAS tariff points than if you were to take a similar English degree at Royal Holloway in Surrey.