What is Asamprajnata?

Asamprajnata is an important term in yoga philosophy as it describes the ideal state which dedicated yogis searching for spiritual awakening try to achieve. During asamprajnata, the yogi’s sense of individual self disappears, as does the object that is being meditated upon.

What is the meaning of Nirvikalpa?

Nirvikalpa is a Sanskrit term which can be translated as “transconceptual.” The word consists of the prefix nir, meaning “without” or “beyond”; vi, meaning “apart from”; and kalpa, meaning “order.” In yoga, it is defined as the processes of the mind that are wordless, with no thought form or discursive thoughts.

What is upaya Pratyaya?

Upaya pratyaya samadhi is attained by establishing the mind in divine knowledge through intense spiritual practice. By overcoming four obstacles, namely, laya, torpidity, vikshepa, distraction, kashaya, attachment, and rasasvada, enjoyment, the veil of avidya or nescience that conceals the supreme reality is lifted.

What is Nirbija samadhi?

Nirbija samadhi is the highest state of samadhi, or spiritual bliss and Self-realization, in yoga and Buddhism. It is referred to in Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras as the ultimate goal of Raja yoga. To be in nirbija samadhi is to experience absolute liberation from the attachments and thoughts of the mind.

What is Ashtanga yoga?

In Sanskrit, ashtanga means eight-limbed (asta- eight, anga- limb). Ashtanga Yoga is an eight-limbed path towards achieving the state of Yoga, also known as Samadhi. The Yoga Sutras are so succinct and are therefore almost incomprehensible without commentary. …

What is Pratyaya in yoga?

Pratyaya is a Sanskrit term that can refer to several concepts, but in yoga, it typically refers to the contents of the mind – a single thought, a person’s basic tendencies or an object of focus in meditation.

What is Mahasamadhi in yoga?

Definition – What does Mahasamadhi mean? Mahasamadhi is the state a yogi enters when they consciously make the decision to leave their body. A yogi who has attained this is said to already dwell in a permanently enlightened state, which gives them the potential to enter mahasamadhi.

What are the stages of samadhi?

In sutra 1:17 Patanjali tells us that samprajñata samadhi comprises four stages: “Complete high consciousness (samprajñata samadhi) is that which is accompanied by vitarka (reasoning), vichara (reflection), sananda (ecstasy), andsasmita (a sense of ‘I’-ness).” In sutras 1:42–44 vitarka is subdivided into savitarka and …

What is seed meditation?

This is a SEED Meditation. This type of meditation was developed by my teacher and mentor, Sarah McLean of the McLean Meditation Institute. It’s a beautiful practice that consists of several practices blended into one. It includes a body scan, heart-centered breath, breath awareness, self inquiry, and a silent mantra.

Which is the last step of Ashtanga yoga?

Samadhi. Patanjali describes this eighth and final stage of ashtanga, samadhi, as a state of ecstasy. At this stage, the meditator merges with his or her point of focus and transcends the Self altogether. The meditator comes to realize a profound connection to the Divine, an interconnectedness with all living things.

Why Pramana is a vritti?

Pramana is a Sanskrit word that means “source of right knowledge.” In the Yoga Sutras, Patanjali categorizes the activities of the mind into five vrittis, or fluctuations of mind, of which pramana is first. By being able to analize one’s thoughts, the vritti can be stilled and the yogi can gain right knowledge.

Which is the correct definition of asamprajnata samadhi?

On the other hand, Asamprajnata has two prevalent definitions because scholars disagree on it. To just set the background – Samadhi begins when we achieve one-pointed (Ekagra) concentration on an object of meditation (Pratyaya). The object or Pratyaya, can be a symbol, deity or mantra that the seeker chooses to focus on.

What are the four levels of consciousness during Samprajnata Samadhi?

There are four levels of consciousness through which the mind moves during samprajnata samadhi: 1 Savitarka (application of thought) 2 Savichara (cognition) 3 Ananda (conscious bliss) 4 Asmita (disembodiment)

Which is the ultimate state of samadhi in yoga?

Samprajnata refers to dualistic thought in which there is separation between the observer and the object. Samadhi is the mind’s ultimate state of being; it is enlightenment and the preliminary state to nirvana.