What does EEOC Management Directive 715 provide guidance on?

equal employment opportunity
MD-715 requires agencies to take proactive steps to ensure equal employment opportunity for all their employees and applicants for employment by regularly evaluating their employment practices to identify and eliminate barriers that hamper the advancement of any racial or ethnic group in federal agencies.

What training opportunities does EEOC offer?

Fee based Training The EEOC Training Institute also offers seminars, courses, workshops, and conferences on EEO issues. Programs are appropriate for private employers and state, local and federal government personnel.

How do I become EEO certified?

Here are the steps to becoming and EEO Investigator:

  1. Step One: Successfully complete the EEO 32-Hour Training Course.
  2. Step 2: Sign Up to Join our EEO Investigator Professional Development Program.
  3. Step 3: Enjoy the Benefits of being a professional and experienced EEO Investigator.

What is an MD-715 report?

The Management Directive 715 (MD-715) was issued by the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) on October 1, 2003. The MD-715 calls for periodic agency self-assessments and the identification and elimination of barriers that prevent equal employment opportunities in the workplace.

What is severe conduct in the workplace?

What is “Severe Conduct”? The severity of the conduct refers to the nature of the harassing conduct. To be severe enough to trigger liability, the conduct must be sufficiently egregious to make the employee’s work environment hostile.

What is the federal law for religious accommodation?

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits employment discrimination based on religion. This includes refusing to accommodate an employee’s sincerely held religious beliefs or practices unless the accommodation would impose an undue hardship (more than a minimal burden on operation of the business).

Is EEO training mandatory?

While it’s not mandatory for most businesses to participate in training, companies that hire employees usually require EEO training as part of their human resources policies.

What are the EEO codes?

The EEO categories are:

  • (1.1) Executive/senior-level officials and managers.
  • (1.2) First/mid-level officials and managers.
  • (2) Professionals.
  • (3) Technicians.
  • (4) Sales Workers.
  • (5) Administrative support workers.
  • (6) Craft workers.
  • (7) Operatives.

What does an EEOC investigator do?

The EEOC investigator will evaluate the information submitted and make a recommendation as to whether there is reasonable cause to believe that unlawful discrimination has taken place. The organization may be asked to: submit a statement of position. This is the organization’s opportunity to tell its side of the story.

What is the purpose of the EEOC?

The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) is responsible for enforcing federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or an employee because of the person’s race, color, religion, sex (including pregnancy, transgender status, and sexual orientation), national origin, age (40 or …

What is an EEO trigger?

A. A trigger is a trend, disparity, or anomaly that suggests the need for further inquiry into a particular policy, practice, procedure, or condition. It is simply a red flag. Triggers can be gleaned from various sources of information, beginning with workforce statistics.

What does EEOC need to know about md-715?

EEOC designed an Agency EEO Self-Assessment Checklist in Part G to provide an efficient and effective means for each agency to determine whether its overall EEO program complies with MD-715’s essential elements. MD-715 now requires all agencies, regardless of size, to complete and submit the checklist to EEOC annually.

What do federal agencies need to know about md-715?

MD-715 now requires all agencies, regardless of size, to complete and submit the checklist to EEOC annually. The following section describes selected measures for each essential element.

Are there affirmative employment requirements under md-715?

Although MD-715 imposes specific affirmative employment requirements under Title VII and the Rehabilitation Act, agencies must also comply with the laws enforced by EEOC.

What should be included in a md-715 briefing?

The briefing must thoroughly cover all components of the agency’s MD-715 report, including an assessment of the agency’s performance in each of the six elements of the model EEO program, as well as a report on the progress of the agency in completing its barrier analysis. The EEO Director controls all aspects of the EEO program.