How do you get an Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal?

This medal was established on Dec. 4, 1961, to be awarded to members of the United States armed forces who, after July 1, 1958, have participated in a United States military operation and encountered foreign armed opposition, or were in danger of hostile action by foreign armed forces.

Who qualifies for Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal?

Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal
Presented by the Department of Defense
Eligibility Served in the U.S. Armed Forces after July 1, 1958 and participated in U.S. military operations, U.S. operations in direct support of the United Nations, or U.S. operations of assistance for friendly foreign nations.
Status Currently awarded

Is the Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal a campaign medal?

Expeditionary medals are unique to the United States Armed Forces, but similar medals are commonly known as campaign medals or service medals in foreign militaries.

What does the Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal look like?

Description: On a Bronze medal, 1 ¼ inches in diameter, an eagle, with wings addorsed and inverted, standing on a sword loosened in its scabbard, and super- imposed on a radiant compass rose of eight points, all within the circumscription “ARMED FORCES” above and “EXPEDITIONARY SERVICE” below with a sprig of laurel on …

Who is authorized to wear the GWOT Expeditionary Medal?

The GWOTSM was established by EO 13289, 12 March 2003. It is authorized for award to Service members of the Armed Forces of the United States who participated in or served in support of approved GWOT operations outside of the designated AOE on or after 11 September 2001 to a future date to be determined.

Does the Armed Forces Expeditionary Medal qualify for protected veteran?

Any Armed Forces expeditionary Medal, whether listed here or not, is qualifying for Veterans preference. DD 214, Certificate of Discharge or Separation from Active Duty, or other official documents issued by the branch of service are required as verification of eligibility for Veterans preference.

How do I know if I am a protected veteran?

You are a “protected veteran” under VEVRAA if you belong to one of the categories of veterans described below: Recently Separated Veteran A veteran separated during the three- year period beginning on the date of the veteran’s discharge or release from active duty in the U.S. military.

What’s the difference between a veteran and a protected veteran?

A recently separated veteran is a protected veteran when they separate from the military/stop serving on active duty and for three years afterward. This three year period begins on the date of discharge/release from active duty.

Do I qualify as a protected veteran?

You are a “protected veteran” under VEVRAA if you belong to one of the categories of veterans described below: Armed Forces Service Medal Veteran A veteran who, while serving on active duty in the U.S. military, participated in a U.S. military operation that received an Armed Forces service medal.

How do I know if I am an Armed Forces Service Medal veteran?

Armed Forces Service medal veteran is defined as a veteran who, while serving on active duty in the U.S. military, ground, naval or air service, participated in a United States military operation for which an Armed Forces service medial was awarded pursuant to Executive Order 12985 (61 Fed.

What order do Navy ribbons go in?

Arrange ribbons in order of precedence in rows from top down, inboard to outboard. Wear all ribbons if you have earned three or more.

Can you wear both GWOT ribbons?

For those participating in multiple operations, both the GWOT Service and GWOT Expeditionary Medal may be authorized, but both medals can no longer be bestowed for the same qualifying period of service. The only exception is for service personnel who served in Iraq or Afghanistan prior to 30 April 2005.

What is the Navy Reserve ribbon?

The Naval Reserve Sea Service Ribbon (NRSS) is an award presented to service members of the United States Navy Reserves. To qualify a reservist must complete a 24 month (cumulative) tour aboard a U.S. Navy Reserve Ship or members of the Navy Reserve staff who spend at least half of their reserve drill embarked on…

What ribbons are given in the Army?

The Army Service Ribbon, sometimes called the Basic Training Ribbon , was approved by the Secretary of the Army in April, 1981. Although this award is nearly always regarded as an automatic award given to enlisted personnel upon successful completion of basic training (boot camp), the eligibility extends to officers, as well.

What do Army ribbons and medals mean?

US Army Medals and Ribbons are Military Awards and Decorations which recognize a soldier’s or Army Veteran’s service and personal accomplishments while a member of the United States Army. Together U.S. Army Ribbons and Military Badges, such awards are a means to outwardly display the highlights of a service member’s career.

What are Air Force ribbons?

The Air Force Recognition Ribbon is a military award of the United States Air Force which was first created in October 1980. The ribbon is intended to recognize those who have received “non-portable” awards for accomplishment and excellence while serving on active duty in the United States Air Force.