Who is the director of the movie the heiress?

The Heiress is a 1949 American romantic drama film directed and produced by William Wyler, from a screenplay written by Ruth and Augustus Goetz, adapted from their 1947 play of the same name, which was itself adapted from the novel Washington Square (1880), by Henry James.

Who are the main characters in the heiress?

A young naive woman falls for a handsome young man who her emotionally abusive father suspects is a fortune hunter. Turn back the clock and hit the beach with some of our favorite classic Hollywood stars.

Who is Catherine Sloper in the heiress movie?

Despite the lessons that Dr. Sloper has paid for in all the social graces for her, Catherine is a plain, simple, awkward and extremely shy woman who spends all her free time alone doing embroidery when she is not doting on her father.

Who was the composer for the opening credits of the heiress?

In a letter to the New York Times, Aaron Copland denied having composed the music used for the opening credits. His composition for the credits was deemed too challenging for audiences and was replaced at the request of producer William Wyler.

Who is Catherine Sloper in the movie the heiress?

When shy, emotionally fragile Catherine Sloper (Olivia de Havilland, in a heartbreaking, Oscar-winning turn), the daughter of a wealthy New York doctor, begins to receive calls from the handsome spendthrift Morris Townsend (Montgomery Clift), she becomes possessed by the promise of romance.

Who is the author of the heiress by Henry James?

Written by: Henry James (Novel), Augustus Goetz (Theatre Play), Ruth Goetz (Screenplay), Augustus Goetz (Screenplay) Script Synopsis: Dull and plain Catherine lives with her emotionally distant father, Dr. Sloper, in 1840s New York.

Jump to navigation Jump to search. The Heiress is a 1949 American drama film directed by William Wyler and starring Olivia de Havilland as Catherine Sloper, Montgomery Clift as Morris Townsend, and Ralph Richardson as Dr. Sloper.