What are the provinces of Region VIII?

It consists of six provinces, one independent city and one highly urbanized city namely, Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Samar, Southern Leyte, Ormoc City and Tacloban. The Highly Urbanized City of Tacloban is Eastern Visayas Regional Center (EVRC).

What is the biggest province in Region 8?

Of the region’s provinces, Leyte has the biggest alienable and disposable lands while Samar has the biggest forest lands.

How many provinces are there in Eastern Visayas?

six provinces
The region has six provinces, one independent city and one highly urbanized city namely, Biliran, Leyte, Northern Samar, Samar, Eastern Samar, Southern Leyte, Ormoc and Tacloban.

What region is the Zamboanga?

Region 9, also known as the Zamboanga Peninsula Region lies at the Southernmost portion of the Philippine archipelago. Located at the western tip of the island of Mindanao, Zamboanga Peninsula is strategically situated in close proximity to Sabah, Malaysia, Brunei Darussalam and Indonesia.

What is the location of Region 3?

Region III lies between Manila and Northern Luzon. It is composed of seven provinces, twelve cities and 118 municipalities. Its 7 provinces are Aurora, Bataan, Bulacan, Nueva Ecija, Pampanga, Tarlac and Zambales.

What is the famous food in Region 8?

Among the region’s native delicacies are binagol (sweet root crop inside molded in coconut shell), moron (a mix of sticky rice and cocoa wrapped with banana leaves), pastillas (candy made from carabao’s milk), suman (a combination of white and brown glutinous rice), smoked fish, Roscas cookies, and chocolate tablets.

What are the festivals in Eastern Visayas?

Top Events & Festivals

  • Fiesta del Sr. Sto.
  • Buyogan Festival – August.
  • Manaragat Festival of Catbalogan – August.
  • Padul-ong Festival of Borongan – September.
  • Karatong Festival of Dulag, Leyte – September.
  • Leyte Gulf Landings Commemorations – October.
  • OkTuba Festival – October.
  • Lawig Festival of Palompon, Leyte – December.

What is the largest island in Visayas?

Cebu Island
Cebu (4,468 km2) Lovingly dubbed the ‘Queen of the South,’ Cebu Island is the largest island in the Visayas region, and right up there as the 126th largest island on Earth.

What region Sulu is?

Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao

Sulu Lupa’ Sūg
Country Philippines
Region Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao
Founded March 10, 1917
Capital Jolo Patikul (seat of Government)

Where are the Eastern Visayas in the Philippines?

Eastern Visayas, officially designated as Region VIII, is an administrative region in the Philippines occupying the eastern section of the Visayas. It covers 6 provinces, namely, Biliran, Eastern Samar, Leyte, Northern Samar, Samar, and Southern Leyte, as well as 1 highly urbanized city.

Which is the eastern part of the Visayan belt?

The region lies in the eastern part of the country’s Visayan belt. The region is bounded on the east by the Pacific Ocean, on the north by the Bicol Peninsula, on the northwest by the Samar Sea, on the west by Camotes Sea, and on the south by the Surigao Strait and Bohol Sea. The region’s terrain is relatively flat near and along its coasts.

What are the festivals in the Eastern Visayas?

Other festivals celebrated in the region include the Sinulog Ha Malitbog, Karayapan Festival, Sanggutan Festival, Pahoy-Pahoy Festival, Manoglaya Festival, and the Bagulan Festival. The region uses two languages, Waray-Waray that is spoken in Samar, Biliran and Leyte, and Abaknon that is used by the natives of Samar.

What’s the median age in the Eastern Visayas?

The median age of 23 indicates that half of the entire population of Eastern Visayas (Region VIII) are aged less than 23 and the other half are over the age of 23. Click on or hover over the slices to see the population of each age group.