What are the 5 ELP standards?

The ELP standards are often abbreviated as Social and Instructional language, the language of Language Arts, the language of Mathematics, the language of Science, and the language of Social Studies.

What are ELP standards?

The Washington English Language Proficiency (ELP) standards focus on critical language, knowledge about language, and language skills present in the Washington State K-12 Learning Standards. These skills are essential for English language learners (ELLs) as they work towards academic success.

What are the six ELP levels as per Wida?

They describe student performance in terms of the six WIDA English language proficiency levels: (1–Entering, 2–Emerging, 3–Developing, 4–Expanding, 5–Bridging, 6–Reaching).

What are the categories of the ESL standards?

There are six ELL levels:

  • Beginner.
  • Lower intermediate.
  • Intermediate.
  • Upper intermediate.
  • Advanced.
  • Native speaker.

What are ELP students?

ELP – English Language Proficiency. ELP is the degree to which a student is able to use standard American English as the language of instruction. The HLS is used to determine if language screening and ELL services may be necessary.

What are the four levels of English proficiency?

The four proficiency levels are beginning, intermediate, advanced, and advanced high. The PLDs describe how well ELs at each proficiency level are able to understand and use English to engage in grade-appropriate academic instruction. There are separate PLDs for listening, speaking, reading, and writing.

What is the highest Wida level?

WIDA MODEL is an English language proficiency assessment for students in Kindergarten through Grade 12. For Kindergarten, it is a paper-based test only. For Grades 1–12 (in grade-level clusters 1–2, 3–5, 6–8 and 9–12), it is available in either an online or paper version.

What are the five Wida ELD proficiency levels?

Each ELP standard addresses a specific context for language acquisition (Social and Instructional settings as well as Language Arts, Mathematics, Science and Social Studies) and is divided into five grade level clusters: PreK-K, 1-2, 3-5, 6-8 and 9-12.

What is Level 2 English proficiency?

Level 2. Ability to use and understand phrases and short sentences in oral discourse. Ability to use and understand simple written English with instructional support, but errors often impede meaning.