Is NAS 1638 still valid?

The NAS 1638 cleanliness standard was developed for aerospace components in the US and is still widely used for industrial and aerospace fluid power applications.

What is NAS rating?

NAS 1638 represents the counts of particles in five size groups: 5 to 15 microns per 100 milliliters (mL) 15 to 25 microns per 100 mL. 25 to 50 microns per 100 mL.

What is NAS oil analysis?

NAS 1638 standard: NAS 1628 is a American standard that references the contamination load based on a breakdown of the different particle sizes for specific particle sizes: 5 to 15 micron, 15 to 25 micron, 25 to 50 micron, 50 to 100 micron, >100 micron. Download the NAS 1638 pdf file.

What is a NAS code?

The NAS system was originally developed in 1964 to define contamination classes for contamination contained in aircraft components. The NAS 1638 coding system defines the maximum numbers permitted of 100mL volume at various size intervals (differential counts) rather than using cumulative counts as in ISO 4406.

What is NAS cleanliness?

There are two rating systems that define fluid cleanliness: National Aerospace Standard (NAS) 1638 and International Standards Organization (ISO) 4406. NAS 1638 defines five brackets of particle size: 5 to 15 microns. 15 to 25 microns. 25 to 50 microns.

What is the full form of NAS value?

NAS GRADE (National Aerospace Standard 1638) is a widely adopted standard to measure the contamination degree of hydraulic oil.

What is full form of NAS?

Network-attached storage (NAS) is a file-level storage architecture that makes stored data more accessible to networked devices.

What was the concept of NAS 1638 based on?

NAS 1638 was the forerunner of other contamination coding. The concept of the code can be seen in Table 1 and it is based upon a fixed particle size distribution of the contaminant over a size range of >5 to >100 µm. This distribution was based on particle contamination inside delivered aircraft hydraulic components in the 1960s.

How big is a particle in NAS 1638?

In standards NAS 1638 and AS4059E, the particles are grouped into intervals as per size: between 5 and 15 µm, between 15 and 25 µm, between 25 and 50 µm, between 50 and 100 µm and, finally, over 100 µm.

What’s the difference between NAS 1638 and iso 4406?

Standard NAS 1638 has been replaced by standard AS4059, the E version of which has been adapted so as to provide data on the levels of contamination for both cumulative and differential values. Cleanliness classes according to SAE AS4059 and conversion to corresponding cleanliness classes according to NAS 1638 and ISO 4406.

Can a NAS 1638 be swapped to AS4059 Class 6B?

Current specifications, like those based on a single number, for instance NAS 1638 Class 6, can be swapped to AS4059 Class 6B through F to provide the same control over the 5 to 100 µm-size range, or perhaps even updated to reflect current and modern requirements.