How do you convert raw score to scaled MCAT?

Each of the four individual sections of the MCAT are worth 132 raw points, with 118 being the lowest possible section score. The number of correct questions in each section is scored and is then converted to a scaled score. If you score between 35 and 37 on one of the sections, your score would then be scaled to 123.

How do you convert a raw score to a scaled score?

You need to follow the chart. Apply the formula to every raw score to get your scaled score. i.e., we know that the transformation formula is scaled score = (raw score + 15)/2. If we apply the formula, we get that for a raw score of 10; it corresponds to a scaled score of 12.5.

What is a good raw score on the MCAT?

So the raw score needed to be well above 100, in a range where percentiles couldn’t go. The MCAT settled on setting the raw score from 118- 132 for each of the four sections, making the average a 125. With the minimum score being above 100, nobody can get confused with percentile ranks.

What is a scaled score of 500?

Scaled scores are converted from raw scores (the number of questions answered corrected); a scaled score of 500 is roughly equivalent to a raw score of 70% correct.

What is the old MCAT score?

Old MCAT Scaled Score: A number between 3-45, wherein students in the 50th percentile received a score of approximately 25.

What is the MCAT scoring system?

Scoring. The test consists of four sections, each scored from 118 to 132 with a median score of 125. The total MCAT score is a sum of the scores from each of the four sections, ranging from 472 to 528 with a median score of 500. Scores are released on a pre-determined date between 30–35 days after the exam date.

What are the MCAT exams?

The Medical College Admission Test (MCAT) is a standardized, multiple-choice examination designed to assess the examinee’s problem solving, critical thinking, and knowledge of science concepts and principles prerequisite to the study of medicine. Scores are reported in each section of the exam.

What is the MCAT scale?

The MCAT is scored on a scale from 472 to 528, with the median score being 500-501. Composite MCAT scores are calculated by adding up the scores of the four individual sections, which range from 118 to 132.