Does the UK have a nuclear power station?

The UK has 13 operational nuclear reactors at six locations (12 advanced gas-cooled reactors (AGR) and one pressurised water reactor (PWR)), as well as nuclear reprocessing plants at Sellafield and the Tails Management Facility (TMF) operated by Urenco in Capenhurst.

Who regulates nuclear power?

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC)
The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) has regulatory authority over storage and disposal of all commercially-generated nuclear wastes in the United States, as well as disposal of spent fuel and high-level wastes generated by the Department of Energy.

Where are the nuclear power stations in the UK?

The eight sites are:

  • Bradwell, Essex.
  • Hartlepool.
  • Heysham, Lancashire.
  • Hinkley Point, Somerset.
  • Oldbury, South Gloucestershire.
  • Sellafield, Cumbria.
  • Sizewell, Suffolk.
  • and Wylfa, Anglesey.

Is ONR part of HSE?

The ONR was created on 1 April 2011 as a non-statutory agency of the Health and Safety Executive (HSE), with the Government intending to put the ONR on a statutory basis at a later date.

Are there other plants like Chernobyl?

Russia still has ten operating nuclear reactors that are similar to the one involved in the 1968 Chernobyl disaster. The type of reactor that exploded during Chernobyl, known as an RBMK, has been modified throughout Russia to account for some of its fatal design flaws.

Who does ONR report to?

the Secretary of the Navy
ONR reports to the Secretary of the Navy through the Assistant Secretary of the Navy for Research, Development and Acquisition.

What does ONR mean?


Acronym Definition
ONR Office of Naval Research
ONR Office for Nuclear Regulation (UK)
ONR Ontario Northland Railway
ONR Oboz Narodowo Radykalny (Polish: National Radical Camp)

Who is the regulator of nuclear power in the UK?

The Office for Nuclear Regulation is the UK’s independent nuclear regulator. Its mission is to protect society by securing safe nuclear operations. ONR is a public corporation of the Department for Work and Pensions.

What does the Office for Nuclear Regulation do?

The Office for Nuclear Regulation’s mission is to protect society by securing safe nuclear operations ONR regulates 36 licensed nuclear sites across England, Scotland & Wales.

How many nuclear power plants are there in the UK?

Chief Executive Officer The Office for Nuclear Regulation (ONR) independently regulates safety and security at 37 licensed nuclear sites in the UK. These include the existing fleet of operating reactors, fuel cycle facilities, waste management and decommissioning sites and the defence nuclear sector.

Is the ONR a civil or military regulator?

Although the ONR is primarily a civil regulator, the ONR Defence Programme regulates military nuclear and conventional safety across a number of licensed and non-licensed nuclear sites, which are operated for the Ministry of Defence (MOD) nuclear defence capability.